Call for Late-Breaking Research Results (Poster Presentations)

2018 International Symposium on Medical Robotics

March 1-3, 2018
Academy of Medicine, Atlanta, GA, USA

The 2018 International Symposium on Medical Robotics (ISMR) will be hosted at the Academy of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia from March 1-3, 2018. This symposium will feature keynote and semi-plenary talks, oral presentations, and poster presentations.

The goal of ISMR is to bring together world-class researchers to present state-of-the-art research achievements and advances in surgical robotics, image-guided interventions, rehabilitation and assistive robotics, and prosthetics, as well as discuss challenges from the clinical point of view and address industry needs. It is envisioned that medical robots will integrate emerging technologies including soft robotics, smart materials, ergonomics, co-robotics, and artificial intelligence in the near future, and those topics will be featured in the symposium.

Potential topics for the symposium submissions include, but are not limited to, state-of-the-art research achievements and advances in surgical robotics, rehabilitation and assistive robotics, prosthetics, image-guided interventions, haptics, safety of robot-assisted procedures, training of medical personnel, and discussing potential challenges from the clinical point of view. 

Call for Posters

We invite participants to present their late-breaking research results in the form of posters in the symposium. To do so, 1-page abstract for poster presentations should be submitted. The abstract should include:

  • Title
  • List of authors and their affiliations
  • Maximum 500-words abstract

All submissions will be judged based on relevance to the symposium topics, technical quality, and novelty. Authors of accepted proposals are expected to attend the symposium and to present their work during the poster session.

Authors are required to submit their poster proposals via email to and, by January 25, 2018. The email subject should be “ISMR2018_Poster_(last name of first author)”.

General Chair: Jaydev P. Desai (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)

Program Co-Chairs: Zion Tse (University of Georgia, USA) and Paolo Fiorini (University of Verona, Italy)

Publication Co-Chair: Mahdi Tavakoli (University of Alberta, Canada) and Elena DeMomi (POLIMI, Italy)

Publicity Chair: Ann Majewicz (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)

Industry Chair: Timothy Kowalewski (University of Minnesota, USA)